AKATA WITCH by NNEDI OKORAFOR

$10.99

Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things. — Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed the Nigerian Harry Potter, Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing–she is a free agent with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.

Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?

World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Biographical Note:

Nnedi Okorafor (nnedi.com) is the first black woman to win the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel. She has also received Hugo and Nebula Awards. Born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents, and raised in both countries, she holds a Ph.D in English and is a professor at SUNY Buffalo. She divides her time between Buffalo and the suburbs of Chicago, where she lives with her daughter Anyaugo (Anya). Nnedi’s work has been published both in Africa and the United States, and ranges from early chapter books to adult short stories and longer fiction.

Paperback. 384 pages. 

Categories: ,
Share this:

Description

Nnedi Okorafor writes glorious futures and fabulous fantasies. Her characters take your heart and squeeze it; her worlds open your mind to new things. — Neil Gaiman, author of The Graveyard Book and American Gods

Affectionately dubbed the Nigerian Harry Potter, Akata Witch weaves together a heart-pounding tale of magic, mystery, and finding one’s place in the world. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone!

Sunny Nwazue lives in Nigeria, but she was born in New York City. Her features are West African, but she’s albino. She’s a terrific athlete, but can’t go out into the sun to play soccer. There seems to be no place where she fits in. And then she discovers something amazing–she is a free agent with latent magical power. And she has a lot of catching up to do.

Soon she’s part of a quartet of magic students, studying the visible and invisible, learning to change reality. But as she’s finding her footing, Sunny and her friends are asked by the magical authorities to help track down a career criminal who knows magic, too. Will their training be enough to help them combat a threat whose powers greatly outnumber theirs?

World Fantasy Award-winning author Nnedi Okorafor blends magic and adventure to create a lush world. Her writing has been called “stunning” by The New York Times and her fans include Neil Gaiman, Rick Riordan, John Green, Ursula K. Le Guin, and many more!

Biographical Note:

Nnedi Okorafor (nnedi.com) is the first black woman to win the World Fantasy Award for Best Novel. She has also received Hugo and Nebula Awards. Born in the United States to two Igbo (Nigerian) immigrant parents, and raised in both countries, she holds a Ph.D in English and is a professor at SUNY Buffalo. She divides her time between Buffalo and the suburbs of Chicago, where she lives with her daughter Anyaugo (Anya). Nnedi’s work has been published both in Africa and the United States, and ranges from early chapter books to adult short stories and longer fiction.

Paperback. 384 pages. 

Reviews

There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “AKATA WITCH by NNEDI OKORAFOR”

Ready to ship in 1-3 business days


 

Shipping Policy

Shipping is a $4 flate rate, unless your order is over $35 - then it's FREE! After you've placed your order, it'll ship within 1-3 business days. USPS Media Mail usually takes around 5-8 business days to arrive at its destination. At this time, Miss Read Books LLC can only ship to customers based in the USA. Please note, due to the COVID-19 pandemic, USPS shipments may take a few more additional days than estimated to arrive.


 

Refund Policy

At this time, Miss Read Books LLC does not generally accept any returns or exchanges. That said, if you are unhappy with your order and it's within 30 days of your purchase, please contact [email protected] Unfortunately if it's been more than 30 days or the books are returned in a worse condition than originally delivered, we will not be able to accept any returns or exchanges (they're books y'all!)

Shipping Rates

Shipping Destination

NY, United States (US)
Subtotal Equal To and Above Shipping Cost
$0.00 $4.00
$35.00 $0.00

Vendor Information

  • Store Name: Miss Read Books
  • Vendor: Nyasha Bryant
  • No ratings found yet!

Product Enquiry

Your personal data will be used to support your experience throughout this website, to manage access to your account, and for other purposes described in our privacy policy

Related products

Shopping bag
Checkout
miiriya